The Enchanted Leaf

The World of Herbs: Medicinal, Magickal, Meliorative

Linden

Leave a comment

There is no better herbal tea to relax and calm you!  Yes, there are the two common go-to herbs, St. John’s Wort and Valerian.  I do not want to detract from these two wonderful herbal remedies at all. However, at the end of a long, stress filled day, my number one choice to relax and help me let go of the yuck is Linden.  I have some tea bags already prepared so it is just a matter of heating the water and I am on my way to a beautiful night’s sleep.

Linden is a tree herb. It is made from the dried leaves and flowers.  It is also called Lime tree, which has nothing to do with the lime fruit.  Mainly, they are found in the British Isles and Asia.  However, they do grow in North America and are commonly referred to as basswood.

This beautiful tea tastes very much like jasmine tea.  It is a mild, sweet flavor.  There are many benefits to enjoying a cup of linden tea at the end of the day.  I stress end of the day because linden has such a relaxing effect on me, that I normally go right to sleep a half hour after drinking a cup.  So, the appropriate disclaimer here would be ‘do not drive or operate heavy machinery after drinking linden tea.’

Originally, I began using linden tea because it eased my nighttime leg cramps and restless legs.  Other benefits and uses for linden tea are:

  • calms anxiety
  • lowers blood pressure
  • helps break fever
  • relieves respiratory ailments
  • reduces the pain of tension headaches.

 

 

Author: cbrandon50

I have never been one to quibble about my age. However, this year, 2010, I turned 50. I realized that life is going way too fast and I can't say that I am crazy about the direction it is going in. So, what else can one do except....blog about it!

Leave a Reply

