The Enchanted Leaf

The World of Herbs: Medicinal, Magickal, Meliorative

CATNIP: It’s Not Just For Cats

Leave a comment

Our week began with a look at the Egyptian goddess, Bast as our Sunday oracle.  I thought it appropriate to open a discussion on the herb catnip.  Some may call it catmint.  Of course, most cats love….LOVE the stuff! For my cat, Luna, it seems to have a relaxing effect.  I did have a Siamese cat, Solomon (RIP), who would go bonkers for just a smidge of the nip.  I had to sprinkle it in a huge box and there he would play for most of the day.  At any rate, catnip can be beneficial mere humans as well.

Let me start by saying, if you’re pregnant or think you might be DO NOT use catnip as it can stimulate the uterus and has abortive properties.  Otherwise, catnip is a safe herb for anyone.

Catnip is one of the better choices for insomnia.  A cup of catnnip tea will help you get to sleep and stay asleep without that drugged up feeling. A few drops of tincture will also work.  Other benefits of catnip are:

  • calming anger (catnip has been dubbed ‘nature’s Valium)
  • colic in infants
  • relieves anxiousness
  • excellent sleepy-time tea
  • teething pain in infants
  • menstrual discomfort
  • reduces fever
  • counteracts too much caffeine
  • eliminates flatulence
  • also relieves minor skin irritations and heals hemorrhoids when used externally.

If you have any questions about using catnip, (or any other herb) please do not hesitate to ask.  You can comment here or you can contact me through The Enchanted Leaf store. Click here.

Bright Blessings!

Author: cbrandon50

I have never been one to quibble about my age. However, this year, 2010, I turned 50. I realized that life is going way too fast and I can't say that I am crazy about the direction it is going in. So, what else can one do except....blog about it!

Leave a Reply

