The Enchanted Leaf

The World of Herbs: Medicinal, Magickal, Meliorative

EVERY DAY NATURAL: Sugar Scrubs

Leave a comment

I love sugar scrubs!!!

Excellent natural exfoliate……..inexpensive….always fresh

Do you have any idea what is in those expensive, store bought exfoliates??  Well, I can’t say that I do either. It has been a very long time since I purchased any.  I do know exactly what is in mine.  I put it in there. Sugar and oil.  Of course, as is my custom, I add some essential oil for the aromatherapy.

What about price? Again, I have no idea what they cost, but I would be willing to bet it is a whole lot more than mine.  And I can put my sugar scrub together any time I want.  Which brings me to reason number 3 for making my own exfoliate.  Freshness!

No one knows how long those exfoliates have been on the shelf. Well, at least, no  one I know does.  Homemade sugar scrubs can be made and used the same day. If you want to make a larger batch, that’s okay too! Just make sure to use it up within a couple of weeks.  Just for freshness’ sake.

My recipe for a basic sugar scrub is: 1 part oil to 2 parts sugar.  And then I add essential oils or even some natural flavorings like vanilla or mint.  The standard that I use is 1/2 cup coconut oil (no surprise there) and 1 cup sugar (use what ever you have on hand, white,brown, or raw). Normally I use vetiver essential oil because it smells clean and fresh and makes me feel beautiful.  It is also said that vetiver can make you attractive to a lover.  (A little extra help if you are single and looking; if you already have a significant other, vetiver could add a little zip to the romance.)

Of course, you do not have to add anything to your sugar scrub, just use it as is if you prefer.  It is great for your face and body. I use it about twice a week to keep my skin feeling soft and fresh.

I wish you much beautiful, healthy skin!  Bright blessings!

Author: cbrandon50

I have never been one to quibble about my age. However, this year, 2010, I turned 50. I realized that life is going way too fast and I can't say that I am crazy about the direction it is going in. So, what else can one do except....blog about it!

Leave a Reply

