The Enchanted Leaf

The World of Herbs: Medicinal, Magickal, Meliorative

First Harvest

Leave a comment

This is an exciting time of year for gardeners.  It is a time when you begin to see the fruits of your garden labors.  Just this afternoon, Mother Earth gifted us with our first batch, ‘mess’ as we say here in Kentucky, of green beans!  These beautiful green gems are in the cooking pot right this second along with a few new potatoes.  The only thing that will be missing from our evening meal is a big, red, ripe tomato.  Unfortunately, they are not quite there yet.  But, they will be fairly soon, I think. 

There really isn’t anything that compares to the feeling you have when you grow your own food.  I highly recommend it to anyone who has time and space.  I believe even a small patio or container garden would bring the same sense of accomplishment.  Not to mention, your own naturally grown food is much better for your body also.

Tending the garden is also meditative and cathartic.  Well, I have to confess that I have not been able to tend as much as I would like; however, Gerald has allowed me to hoe some weeds from time to time.  He does tell me how wonderfully fulfilling gardening is and I believe him.  Part of this peaceful feeling comes from simply spending time in nature. So, if you absolutely cannot garden, go outside anyway.  Walk in the grass barefooted.  Take deep, cleansing breaths, and smile.  

Taking some time to get yourself as surrounded by nature as you possibly can, will also give you a feeling of being grounded.  The Earth’s energy can evoke a sense solidity and stability.  This is especially helpful when you may be experiencing insecurities in an area of your life.  Simply stand, preferably barefooted, and feel the energy of the foundations of the Earth, focus on that for a few minutes.  Trust me, you will not regret the time you spend outdoors.

Well, now I will take my own advice and go outside once again.  And, yes, I will be barefooted most of the time anyway.

Bright Blessing to you all!

Author: cbrandon50

I have never been one to quibble about my age. However, this year, 2010, I turned 50. I realized that life is going way too fast and I can't say that I am crazy about the direction it is going in. So, what else can one do except....blog about it!

Leave a Reply

